Black-eye Bean Soup with Okra

black eyed bean soup with okra

I don’t often post recipes unless they’re something I’ve made up or heavily modified, but this was just too delicious not to share.

I wanted some soup, and and I wanted to use black-eye beans, so I put them on to soak. Then I searched the internet for suitable recipes and decided to use this recipe for Black-eye bean and Vegetable Soup, by Jan Pursey, at Taste.com.au. The next day I was grocery shopping, and picked up the rest of the ingredients.

I followed the recipe exactly, but when I was vegetable shopping I’d picked up some fresh okra which was on sale, and decided to add about 5 of them, sliced, about an hour into cooking the soup. It worked brilliantly.

black eyed bean soup with okra

Calorie Count
Total calories for the pot: 1370
Makes 4-5 serves at 275-355 calories each.
(We didn’t add the olive oil when serving)

Experimental Status: This is clearly a tried and tested, and it shows.
Repeatability: See above. I would definitely make this again. Might add a little more pepper and some paprika to add a little heat.

4 Comments

Filed under recipes

4 responses to “Black-eye Bean Soup with Okra

  1. oh two of my favourite ingredients! i like the sound of that a lot.

  2. Cheers Bells. I hope you try it.

  3. Yum!

    I’ve just nominated you for an award! Check out my blog latest entry.

  4. Pingback: Veggie Mixer – black eyed bean soup with okra

Leave a Reply

