Ginger Beer Cupcakes

Or, “Let’s see what I have in my pantry cupcakes”

I was still feeling peckish after dinner last night, and the good thing about muffins and cupcakes is that they are easy and quick to make. I had all the basics, but as I hadn’t planned to bake, I didn’t have any thing with which to flavour them.

But then I had a brilliant idea, possibly helped along by the (alcoholic) ginger beer we were drinking with dinner, and the fact that I’d recently read this recipe for chocolate and beer cupcakes, thus the idea for ginger beer cupcakes sprang out of my head fully formed. Just like Athena. (Okay, so I made it up as I went along. But it worked.)

ginger cupcakes

Strictly speaking, they are ginger beer and mandarin marmalade flavoured. But I accidentally put the marmalade away before I got the camera out.

Ingredients:
3/4 cup of caster sugar
2-3 tbsp butter or margerine
2 eggs
1 tablespoon of marmalade
1 & 1/2 cups of self raising flour
1 cup ginger beer
1 tsp ground ginger

main ingredients

Instructions
Pre-heat oven to 180 C or 350 F
Cream the butter and sugar.
Add eggs one at a time and beat well.
Add the marmalade and beat.
Add the flour and ginger beer alternately, add ground ginger, and beat until the batter has a good, moist consistency. 1

Spoon into cupcake cases in a muffin tray. Fill cases about half way, as they will rise.
Sprinkle tops with caster sugar.
Bake for 20 minutes.

Let cool for as long as you can wait, (usually about 1-5 minutes) then eat.

Makes 12 medium sized cupcakes, or 9-10 big ones.

ginger cupcakes

1. Incidentally, as far as I can tell, the difference between cupcakes and muffins is whether or not you beat the batter. With muffins, the dry and wet ingredients should be gently mixed together so that the mixture is only just moist, and still a little crumbly. These got beaten, therefore they are cupcakes.

4 Comments

Filed under recipes

4 responses to “Ginger Beer Cupcakes

  1. Robbie

    I thought in general muffins are more breadey and cupcakes are more cakey.

    I could be entirely wrong, though.

  2. oh they both look and sound fabulous. I must try them!

  3. Robbie: Another way of saying it is that cupcakes are more cakey because the batter is made like a cake, whereas muffins have their own technique.

    Bells: Thanks. I love mouthfuls of heaven. What a great idea.

  4. Jalden

    These look delicious!

Leave a Reply

